The Roger H. Michael Research Award was established in 1995 in honor of Dr. Roger H. Michael, Chief of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery at MedStar Union Memorial Hospital from 1976 to 1992. The award is given annually to both a resident and a fellow for outstanding contributions in orthopedic research during training at MedStar Union Memorial Hospital. Award recipients receive a cash award to present the award-winning research at a national conference.

The award recipients must display the ability to design and conduct sound, scientific investigations. Award decisions are made by members of the Orthopedic Research Committee and are based on the merit of the submitted project, the contribution it makes to the existing body of knowledge, and whether the applicant displays potential for pursuing orthopedic research in the future. All winners’ names are displayed on a plaque in the Orthopedic Library.

Past Winners of the Roger H. Michael Award

Fellows Year Residents
Melissa Wright 2020 Heath Gould
Mario Lobao 2019 David Weiner
Jason Tartaglione 2018 Roshan Melvani
R. Bruce Canham 2017 Andrew Trontis
Michael Aynardi 2016 D. Alex Stroh
Miguel Ramirez 2015 Beatrice Grasu
Vikram Sathyendra 2014 Miguel Ramirez
David Lee 2013 Bradley Moatz / Miguel Ramirez
Walter Hembree 2012 Miguel Ramirez
Samuel Adams 2011 Michael Sirota
Joshua Nadaud 2010 Peter Thomas
Adam Groth 2009 Dustin Gay
Robert Smith 2008 Vladmir Sinkov
Kevin Kirk 2007 Patrick O’Neill
Marc Chodos 2006 Patrick O’Neill
Kevin Logel 2005 Krishn Sharma/Patrick O’Neill
Anand Vora 2004 Kenneth Means
Craig Title 2003 James Nicholson
Steven Herbst 2002 James Nicholson
Steven Neufeld 2001 Warren Dunn

For more information about orthopedic and sports research network at MedStar Union Memorial Hospital, please contact us at [email protected].